New Expedition 47 Crew Arrives at Station

Expedition 47-48 Crew Members
Expedition 47-48 Crew Members (from left) NASA astronaut Jeff Williams and Roscosmos cosmonauts Alexey Ovchinin and Oleg Skripochka.

The Soyuz TMA-20M vehicle docked to the International Space Station’s Poisk module at 11:09 p.m. EDT approximately 250 miles above the Southern Pacific Ocean off the western coast of Peru.

Aboard the space station, 47 Commander Tim Kopra of NASA and Flight Engineers Tim Peake of ESA (European Space Agency) and cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko of Roscosmos, will welcome Soyuz crew members Jeff Williams of NASA and cosmonauts Oleg Skripochka and Alexey Ovchinin of Roscosmos, when the hatches between the two spacecraft are open.

Watch the hatch opening ceremony live on NASA Television at 12:30 a.m.:

To learn more about the International Space Station, visit: For launch coverage and more information about the mission, visit: To join the online conversation about the International Space Station, follow @Space_Station.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *