Now on NASA TV Live Launch Coverage of New Crew

The Soyuz MS-02 Spacecraft
The gantry arms are raised around the Soyuz MS-02 spacecraft after it was raised into a vertical position on the launch pad, Sunday, Oct. 16, 2016 at the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Photo Credit: (NASA/Joel Kowsky)

The next three crew members bound for the International Space Station are on schedule to launch this morning from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Live launch coverage will begin at 3:15 a.m. EDT on NASA Television and the agency’s website.

NASA astronaut Shane Kimbrough and cosmonauts Sergey Ryzhikov and Andrey Borisenko of the Russian space agency Roscosmos will launch at 4:05 a.m. EDT (2:05 p.m. Baikonur time). The trio will spend a little more than four months together aboard the space station, returning to Earth in late February.

The crew will lift off in a Soyuz MS-02 spacecraft and over two days will orbit the Earth 34 times before docking to the space station’s Poisk module at 5:59 a.m. Friday, Oct. 21. NASA TV coverage of the docking will begin at 5:15 a.m.

The original launch date of Sept. 23 was postponed due to a technical issue with the Soyuz spacecraft, which Roscosmos repaired.

Check out the NASA TV schedule online for information on how to watch live and replays.

To learn more about the International Space Station, visit: For launch coverage and more information about the mission, visit: Get breaking news, images and features from the station on Instagram at: and on Twitter @Space_Station.

Get weekly video highlights at:

2 thoughts on “Now on NASA TV Live Launch Coverage of New Crew”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *