Watch Station Crew Swap Command Friday Afternoon

The Soyuz Crew Trios of Expedition 49
The Expedition 49-50 trio of (from left) Sergey Ryzhikov, Shane Kimbrough and Borisenko will stay on board the station after the Expedition 48-49 trio with Kate Rubins, Anatoly Ivanishin and Takuya Onishi undock and return to Earth Saturday night. Credit: NASA/Robert Markowitz

NASA astronaut Kate Rubins and her crewmates, Anatoly Ivanishin of the Russian Federal Space Agency (Roscosmos) and Takuya Onishi of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency are scheduled to return to Earth on Saturday, Oct. 29 at 11:59 p.m. EDT (9:59 a.m. Oct. 30, Kazakhstan time).

NASA Television will air coverage of the departure and landing activities, beginning with a change of command ceremony at 3:30 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 28. Expedition 49 Commander Ivanishin will hand over station command to NASA astronaut Shane Kimbrough.

Watch live online on NASA’s website.

To learn more about the International Space Station, visit: For launch coverage and more information about the mission, visit: Get breaking news, images and features from the station on Instagram at: and on Twitter @Space_Station.

Get weekly video highlights at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *