SWOT Prelaunch News Briefing Time Changed to 3 p.m. EST (Noon PST)

nside the SpaceX facility at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California, a crane is used to lower the Surface Water and Ocean Topography (SWOT) satellite for mating to the payload adapter on Dec. 5, 2022.
Inside the SpaceX facility at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California, a crane is used to lower the Surface Water and Ocean Topography (SWOT) satellite for mating to the payload adapter on Dec. 5, 2022. Photo credit: USSF 30th Space Wing/Steven Gerl

NASA is adjusting the coverage time for the international Surface Water and Ocean Topography (SWOT) mission’s prelaunch news conference.

NEW TIME: 3 p.m. EST (noon PST) – SWOT Prelaunch News Conference on NASA TV and YouTube with the following participants:

  • Karen St. Germain, director, NASA’s Earth Science Division
  • Thierry Lafon, SWOT project manager, CNES
  • Tim Dunn, launch director, NASA’s Launch Services Program
  • Julianna Scheiman, civil satellite missions director, SpaceX
  • Parag Vaze, SWOT project manager, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Capt. Maximillian Rush, launch weather officer, U.S. Space Force

The SWOT mission is targeted for liftoff at 6:46 a.m. EST (3:46 a.m. PST) Thursday, Dec. 15, on a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket from Space Launch Complex 4-East at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California. Live launch coverage will begin at 6 a.m. EST (3 a.m. PST) on NASA Television, YouTubeTwitter, the NASA app, and the agency’s website.